Aim, Frame and Shoot

I know I mentioned what an amazingly tolerant husband I have, but if further proof was needed, this past weekend would be it. After being cooped in the house with two cats, a dog and three Wild Things for three days straight, I was going a little batty, but with three kids and newly arriving to this base, I didn’t believe I would see a date night for at least a few months. I am ashamed to say that I completely underestimated my husband. The DH worked some magic with an amazing coworker of his and voila! We had a date.

The DH had far better aim than me.

The DH had far better aim than me.

Like a true gentleman, he opened my car door for me and then, during the course of our date, taught me how to load a semiautomatic handgun! Now that’s a real Southern gentleman. Well, technically a Californian gentleman whose mamma raised him right.

I had so much fun at the shooting range and was able to test the feel of a variety of arms. As the day went on, I even managed to hit the black part of the target. Granted, I never managed to hit the bullseye like the DH, but that’s why he is the teacher and I am the student.

It’s not that I am unaccustomed to shooting things- hi, photographer here! I aim, frame and shoot all day long! It’s just my choice weapon is typically a Nikon, not a Beretta and my target shooting reflected that quite clearly.

Me, target shooting. I was fortunate when I hit the black target. Seriously. I never imagined that shooting a moving target (clay pigeons) would be easier than paper. But it is for me! Maybe its all that time photographing small children who move extra fast.

Me, target shooting. I was fortunate when I hit the black target. Seriously. I never imagined that shooting a moving target (clay pigeons) would be easier than paper. But it is for me! Maybe its all that time photographing small children who move extra fast.

My skill with a lens wasn’t completely useless- One of the Range managers asked for my professional services for some publicity photos. Alas, these won’t be lightly spiced up, but I was more than happy to donate some time for the photos. I know we will be back often at the Range and I just had so much fun that a few moments of my professional time seemed a small concession for the awesomeness of our experience. I was fortunate enough to capture some spectacular marksmen in action and truly flattered to have been solicited in the first place, even if it was a spur of the moment un-planned and unpaid experience.

Some of the shooters present were amazing marksmen with true skill.

Some of the shooters present were amazing marksmen with true skill with fire arms. I was not one of them.

I came home from our date feeling empowered and revived. Taking a few hours to just spend time with someone you love one on one is such an amazing gift! And having my professional talent sought was an unexpected bonus to an already lovely day.  My only regret is that I didn’t ask one of the range managers to take a photo of the two of us together. All in all it was a great date activity for us. It’s not often we get time to spend, just the two of us so this was extra special.

*The Arkansas Armory is the range we went to. They allow you to rent a variety of different fire arms, which I enjoyed immensely, because it allowed me to try out different guns without committing to any of them. Now I have learned how to load and shoot and work different fire arms. Knowledge is power and knowing how to handle a fire arm is very important, even if I never plan on using one.  

3 thoughts on “Aim, Frame and Shoot

    1. Lightly Spiced Photography Post author

      By the end of the day I was improving- hitting the target itself, and then finally the black parts! DH was very very patient with me- you taught him well! Actually, it reminded me of you guys working with Thing1 and the 22.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

